Teaching & learning

Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage promotes consistency in care and learning from birth to the end of the Stage.

It aims to ensure children achieve the five 'Every Child Matters' outcomes:

  • stay safe
  • be healthy
  • enjoy & achieve
  • make a positive contribution
  • achieve economic well-being.

It incorporates elements of the National Standards, with a play-based approach that focuses on stages of a child’s development, focusing on six broad areas of learning and development of equal importance:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Problem solving, reasoning and numeracy
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

Key Stage 1 & 2

All maintained schools are required to provide a balanced and broadly based curriculum that promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society and prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life.

In Key stage 1 the curriculum is organised into 12 subject areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Computing
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art
  • Design & Technology
  • PSHE (Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education)
  • Religious Education
  • Music
  • Physical Education

In Key Stage 2 the curriculum is organised into 13 subject areas. The same 12 subject areas outlined above for KS1 are taught and we also teach a Modern Foreign Language.  At our school we teach Spanish to Year 3 to 6.
Click here to download the School Curriculum Map.


< Back to info & polices